Hare and hound races are desert races. They are popular in the western states where there are large amounts of open land to race, and they challenge riders to compete over a natural terrain course 40-120 miles long, passing through a series of checkpoints. Similar to enduros in course length, hare and hound events have more in common with cross country races when it comes to race format. Hare and hounds are an all-out race with a mass start.

Like all AMA-sanctioned disciplines, hare and hound competition offers classes for all skill levels and ages of riders. Riders can find a class for them at a typical hare and hound event. Whether you are interested in competing against some of the best desert racers in the world or you just want to enjoy a fun day on your motorcycle, you can do so at an AMA-sanctioned hare and hound.

National Championship Series

The top hare and hound series in the country is the AMA Hare and Hound National Championship Series. It is promoted and organized by the AMA’s promoting partner for the series, the National Hare and Hound Association. The NHHA works with local clubs to build the series, is responsible for round-to-round consistency, manages sponsor relationships and serves as a central information hub for racers.

Even the national series has a number of classes intended for riders with a range of backgrounds and skill levels. For beginners, the NHHA provides an excellent introduction to hare and hound racing so new entrants into the sport can get started safety and competitively.


The AMA National Hare and Hound Championship Series was created in 1985 and made its introduction in the 1986 season. The AMA District 37 (Southern California) Sports Committee helped get the series off the ground and qualify for a national championship. The first AMA National Hare and Hound Champion was Dan Smith, who also won the AMA Amateur Athlete of the Year Award for his dominance. Smith won four more titles before AMA Motorcycle Hall of Famer Danny Hamel began his reign, winning five titles of his own. Other multi-time champions include Destry Abbott, Russ Pearson, Kendall Norman, Ricky Brabec and Hall of Famers Kurt Caselli and Ty Davis.

Supplemental Regulations

  • 2023 Youth Hare and Hound National Championship Series Supplemental Regulations (coming soon)
  • 2023 Hare and Hound National Championship Series Supplemental Regulations (coming soon)

Amateur Competition Rules